MEIGS COUNTY, Ohio – Meigs County is one of the counties that the Southern Ohio Agricultural & Community Development Foundation is pleased to announce an unprecedented opportunity for progressive young farmers.

The Pat Raines Young Farmer Grant program is designed to facilitate growing an agricultural enterprise to the next level. The intent of the program is to help promote and ensure a strong future in southern Ohio agriculture. Eligible applicants must be age 20–38 as of August 1, 2018. Eligible parties must reside within the 22 counties the Foundation currently serves and be actively engaged in farming within those counties. Counties include: Adams, Athens, Brown, Clermont, Clinton, Fayette, Gallia, Greene, Jackson, Highland, Lawrence, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Montgomery, Noble, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Vinton, Warren, Washington. A valid driver’s license will be required to verify age and residency.

SOACDF will award 50 percent cost shares grants at a maximum of $25,000 each. Applications, including a business plan, will be accepted for the Young Farmer Agricultural Program from August 1 – August 31, 2018 and will be available at the SOACDF office, your local Farm Service Agency or online at after July 1st. If you have questions about the program eligibility or criteria please call the Foundation Office at 937-393-2700.

The Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community Development Foundation serves 22 counties in southern Ohio by providing educational assistance, agricultural and economic development grants. The Foundation has invested more than $92 million in grants since the programs began in 2001.