Meigs County Commissioners approve appointments to Local Emergency Preparedness Committee

POMEROY, Ohio – The Meigs County Commissioners approved the appointment of the local emergency preparedness committee.

During the June 22, 2017 meeting of the Meigs County Commissioner meeting the list of Meigs County Local Emergency Preparedness Committee was approved. The list was presented to the Commissioners by Jamie Jones, Meigs County Emergency Management Agency Director.

According to the State Emergency Response Commission (SERC), “appoints members of the Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPC) of each emergency planning district. In Ohio, each county has been designated as its own emergency planning district, with the exception of Montgomery and Greene counties, which combine their planning efforts. LEPC members include representatives from each of the following groups or organizations: elected state and local officials; law enforcement; emergency management; fire fighting; first aid, hospitals and health; local environmental authorities; transportation; broadcast and/or print media; community groups; and owners and operators of subject facilities.”

The SERC appoints LEPC members to two two-year terms of office. LEPCs use Ohio EPA’s inventory information to develop and exercise their local planning district’s emergency response plans. According to the resolution, “the appointments will begin on August 15, 2017 through August 14, 2019 after approval from the State Emergency Response Commission.”

Elected official approved by the Meigs County Commissioners to serve on the LEPC are: Mike Bartrum, Randy Smith, Tim Ihle, Meigs County Commissioners; Joe Bolin, Township Trustee; Bill Spaun, Salisbury Township Trustee; and Bryan Shank, Mayor Village of Pomeroy.

Fire departments, EMS and law enforcement representatives to the LEPC are: Chuck Stephens, Lieutenant Olive Township Fire Department and Meigs County Fire Association Vice President; Danny Davis, Assistant Chief Rutland Fire Department; Robbie Jacks, Meigs County EMS Director; Lt. Barry Call, Ohio State Highway Patrol; and Meigs County Sheriff Keith Wood.

Representatives serving on the board from health, community groups, Red Cross and hospitals are: LeAnn Cunningham, Meigs County Health Department Nursing Coordinator; Frank Gorscak, Meigs County Health Department Emergency Coordinator; Courtney Midkiff, Meigs County Health Department Assistant Administrator; Robert Byer, Meigs Co-Op; Chris Shank, Meigs County Department of Job and Family Services; David Bradley, the American Red Cross; Jennifer Dewitt, Holzer Health System Emergency and Communication Supervisor; and Morgan Saunders, Holzer Health Systems.

For transportation, facility operator, 911, environmental, media, emergency management and public information officer the following committee members were approved: Tom Reed, Director Gallia Meigs Community Action; Eugene Triplett, Meigs County Engineer; Don Poole, Manager Tuppers Plains-Chester Water District; Steve Wallis, Supervisor Gavin Power Plant; Kenneth Barnett, Meigs County 911 Supervisor; Chris Gilkey, Wildlife Officer Ohio Department of Natural Resources; Steve Swatzel, Meigs County Health Department; Dave Harris, freelance writer; Jamie Jones, Director Meigs County Emergency Management Agency; and Brody Davis, Meigs County Emergency Management Agency.

For more information on the June 22 Meigs County Commissioners meeting see story to run June 24 on the Meigs Independent Press.