Ohio awards certification to area law enforcement agencies for adopting standards

Ohio awards certification to area law enforcement agencies for adopting standards

COLUMBUS, Ohio– Ohio Office of Criminal Justice Services have announced area law enforcement agencies that have adopted and implemented state standards established by the Ohio Collaborative Community-Police Advisory.

There are 491 agencies that are certified, and 73 that are in the process of becoming certified by meeting standards for the use of force, including deadly force, and agency recruitment and hiring. Additionally, over 29,385 officers (representing over 91 percent of all law enforcement officers in Ohio, including most of Ohio’s metropolitan areas) are employed by an agency that is involved in some form of the certification process.

Area agencies receiving certification:

  • Meigs County: Meigs County Sheriff’s Office; Pomeroy Police Department.
  • Gallia County: Gallia County Sheriff’s Office; Gallipolis Police Department; University of Rio Grande Police Department.
  • Athens County: Washington County Sheriff’s Office; Belpre Police Department; Marietta Police Department.
  • Athens County: Athens County Sheriff’s Office; Athens Police Department; Nelsonville Police Department; Hocking College Police Department; Ohio University Police Department.

The standards are the first of their kind in Ohio and were developed and established by the Ohio Collaborative Community-Police Advisory Board as part of the state’s efforts to strengthen community and police relations.

Elements of a standard:

  • Policy (Procedure)
  • Knowledge (Awareness/Reading/Signing)
  • Proficiency (Roll-Call Training/Quizzes)
  • Compliance (Agency Activity and Accountibility)

Standards for certification include: response to mass protests/demonstrations; vehicular pursuit; employee misconduct; bias free policing; body worn cameras; use of force; use of deadly force; employee recruitment and hiring; community engagement.

The state has partnered with the Buckeye State Sheriffs’ Association and the Ohio Association of Chiefs of Police to help certify Ohio’s nearly 900 law enforcement agencies on a process to ensure that they are in compliance with Ohio’s new standards. The complete list of agencies who have and have not been certified can be found at: http://www.ocjs.ohio.gov/ohiocollaborative/