June 17, 2024

POMEROY, Ohio – A Meigs County school has been noted by the state for their school report card. 

The State Board of Education of Ohio has recognized 28 districts and 310 schools for earning an overall grade of “A” on the 2017-2018 Ohio School Report Cards. Of that, an elite group of two districts and 57 schools received the All A Award for earning straight A’s. In Meigs County, the Meigs Primary received all A’s.

In addition, 70 districts and 226 schools received the Momentum Award for exceeding expectations in student growth for the year.

“Every day, Ohio’s schools do the challenging but rewarding work of educating our students and building the future of our state,” said State Board of Education President Tess Elshoff. “The State Board of Education is proud to recognize these students, teachers, administrators and parents for their accomplishments.”

Any Ohio school or district is eligible for the Overall A Award if it received an A on its overall grade.

Any Ohio school or district is eligible for the All A Award if it received A’s on all of its applicable report card measures.

Any Ohio school or district is eligible for the Momentum Award if it receives straight A’s on all Value-Added measures on the report card. The school or district must have at least two Value-Added subgroups of students, which include gifted, lowest 20 percent in achievement and students with disabilities.Click here for complete lists of districts and schools that received the Overall A Award, All A Award or Momentum Award.

About the State Board of Education of Ohio
The State Board of Education of Ohio has set education policy and directed the planning and evaluative functions of Ohio’s public schools, as well as appointed and evaluated the superintendent of public instruction, since 1956. The vision of the State Board is for all students to graduate well prepared for success. The State Board is made up of 19 members, including 11 elected and eight appointed members. The chairs of the education committees of the Ohio House of Representatives and Ohio Senate serve as ex officio members.