Newly elected and installed officers of the Racine Southern FFA Chapter. Submitted photo.

Racine Southern FFA Holds Annual Banquet, Students Recognized

RACINE, Ohio – On April 21, 2022, The Racine Southern FFA Chapter held their Annual FFA Banquet at Star Mill Park in Racine, Ohio.

Members, family and supporters of the Racine Southern FFA Chapter gathered to recognize the achievements made throughout the year.

Through participation, demonstration of skills, dedication and determination, members achieved recognition with various awards. The following were recognized: Soil Judging Rural, Anthony Whobrey, Cassidy Bailey, Corey Seth, Hannah Turley, and Keiran Johnson; Soil Judging Urban, Kodi Rife, and Theron Black. A few members did so well that they advanced to state. These members are Kylee Circle, Katie Rowe, and Chole Smith.

Additional recognitions and awards went to: Job Interview CDE, Cassidy Bailey; Online Greenhand Exam, Anthony Whobrey, Hannah Turley, Nathaniel Nero, Cayden, Keyes, Colin Wemmer, Corey Seth, Keiran Johnson, Dylan Haye, Ethan Dorst, Caleb Jones, Justin Cummins, Austin Lee, Thomas Bailey, Landon Everson, Austin Stover, Miciah Smith, and Haiden Arnold.

FFA Points are able to be earned throughout the school year for participation in projects, work, etc. The recognition for Top FFA Points for each nine weeks is: 1st nine weeks, Katie Rowe with 22 points; 2nd nine weeks, Katie Rowe with 20 points; 3rd nine weeks, Katie Rowe 25 points. Top FFA Points Overall went to Overall 1st FFA points, Chole Smith with 79 points; Overall 2nd FFA points, Katie Rowe 73 with points; Overall 3rd FFA points, Dylan Lyons with 54 points.

Fundraisers are a part of not only helping to fund events and activities for the FFA, it is also an opportunity to learn sales skills and record keeping skills. The following were recognized for their fundraising efforts: Top Fruit Seller, Dylon Lyons; Top Jerky Seller, McKenna Walker; Top T-Shirt Seller, Dylon Lyons; Top Strawberry Seller, Dylon Lyons; Top Raffle Ticket Seller, Chole Smith.

The Meigs County Junior Fairboard Representatives from the Racine Southern FFA were recognized. They participate in Junior Fair activities, planning and helping with making the events of the Junior Fair possible. The members are Cassidy Bailey and Corey Seth.

Those earning FFA degrees were: Discovery Degree, Murphey Dunfee, Danae Hemsley, Laynee Hill, Bradlee Molden, Tristan Moore, Matthew Sands, Nathan Shuster, Will Smith, Jake Wickline, and Wyatt Smith; Star Discovery Degree, Will Smith; Greenhand Degree, Michelle Adkins, Ethan Dorst, Landon Everson, Dylan Haye, Kerian Johnson, Caleb Jones, Cayden Keyes, Nathaniel Nero, Corey Seth, Miciah Smith, Austin Stover, Hannah Turley, Collin Wemmer, and Anthony Whobrey; Star Greenhand Degree, Nathaniel Nero; Chapter Degree, Corey Lane, Brayden Sellers, Madison Vantrease, Chole Smith, Kylee Circle, and Katie Rowe; Star Chapter Degree, Kylee Circle; State Degree, Dylan Lyons; American Degree, Caelin Seth; Outstanding Senior Award, Dylan Lyons.

The Travis Adams Achievement Award was awarded to Chole Smith. The award is in memory of Travis Adams who was a member of the Racine Southern FFA. The award was presented by Denny and Linda Evans.

Scholastic Winners by grade were: 9th Grade, Corey Seth; 10th Grade, Katie Rowe; 11th Grade, Braydon Essick; 12th Grade, Jonah Diddle.

Officer Books were noted for their work and all were awarded gold level recognition: Chole Smith, Secretary; Katie Rowe, Treasurer; Kylee Circle, Reporter.

Community Service Award was awarded for at least more than 10 hours of community service to Kylee Circle, Braydon Essick, Harley Hubbard, Corey Lane, Dylon Lyons, BJ Parsons, Caelin Seth, Corey Seth, Chole Smith, and Madison VanTrease.

The 2021 Outstanding Entrepreneurship SAE went to Caelin Seth with a total
profit of $11,499. The 2021 Outstanding Placement SAE award went to Dylon Lyons with 489 total hours.

A scholarship was awarded to Garret Smith of $750. Krissi Vance and Anna Titus both received $500 scholarships.

Honorary Member recognized was Jim Essick.

The 2022-2023 officers were elected and installed: President, Cassidy Bailey; Vice President, Katie Rowe; Secretary, Kylee Circle; Treasurer, Chole Smith; Reporter, Braydon Essick; Historian, Madison VanTrease; Parliamentarian, Brayden Sellers; Sentinel, Nathaniel Nero. Dylan Lyons was recognized as a retiring officer.

Racine Southern FFA also recognizes their outstanding supporters and sponsors at the banquet which include: Athens/Meigs Farm Bureau, Brenda Johnson, Brent and Carrie Rose, Carmen Adkins, Charlie Wolfe, Christi Hendrix, Elizabeth Lawrence, Hannah Thompson, Jack Lyons, Jennifer dunn, Jessie Donohue, Joann and Scott Pfeiffer, Kenny and Rhonda Meeks, Maxine Rose, Meigs County Extension, Meigs County Soil and Water Conservation, Melody and Micheal Bailey, Daniel Otto, Denny Evans, Russ Fields, Ryan Curtis, Thomas Woods, Tony Deem, Alyssa Bregel, Tracy Dendinger, Tricia McNickle, Ohio River Producers, Rhonda Rathburn, Southern Bus Garage, Southern High School Staff, Southern Local Cooks, Tara and Joe Roberts, Cassandra Mavis, Morgan Anderson, Jeremy and Dawn Lyons, Jeremy Rose; Roses Excavating and Trucking, Matthew Winkle, Whitney Short, Brenda Correll, Tom Oglesbay, Tim and Liz Thoren, Windon Farms and FCMA/Rural First, Jordan Pickens and Family, Middleport 363 F&AM, Lester Manuel and Family, Jeff Warner Insurance Agency, Baum Lumber, Eier Show Goats, Holter Farms, Denny and Linda Evans, The Local Butcher/ Jenna Meeks and Shawn Donahue, Knots by K, KL Livestock, Hill’s Thunderbird Center, Unleashed Kennel and Spa, Payton Toops, Tractor Supply, Sweet Southern Soul Boutique, Uplift Fitness, C&C Crafts, River Roasters, Jays Nails, AutoZone, Francis Florist, Clarks Jewelry shop, ML Massage and Bodywork Therapy, Terri Mitchel, Megan’s Decor and More, Dettwiller Lumber, Glow tanning, Weaving Stitches, Hartwell House, Ace Hardware in Middleport, Advance Auto Parts, Front Paige Outfitters, Crystals on Main, Valley Lumber, TP 1 Stop Tuppers Plains, Stacie Pullins, Nicole Parsons, Angie Dave, Angie Bass, Ruth and Butch Sellers, Angie and Rick Smith, Karen and Shane Circle, Mike Baily, Kimberly Bolin, Jen Shortridge, Fred Nero, Troy Rife, Christy and Jim Essick, Dale Hart, Legna Hill, Norris Greenhouse.

There were 55 guests and 24 members who attended the annual banquet. The Ohio River Producers, which is an alumni and support organization for the Racine Southern FFA Chapter, provided the food for the banquet. Ohio River Producers Members are Ed Gibbs, James Languel, Jim Diddle, Joe Proffitt, Peggy Gibbs, Jenna Meeks, Melody Bailey, Michael Bailey, Shawn Donahue, Brent Rose, Carrie Rose, Colton Hamm, Bobbie Holter, Joe Roberts, Michaela Holter, Rhonda Meeks, Rhonda Rathburn, Tara Roberts, and Maxine Rose.

Information contributed by Braydon Essick, 2022-2023 Racine Southern FFA Reporter.