Holzer recognizes Meigs youth and others at Science Awards Banquet

Holzer Health System recently honored outstanding local high school science graduates at its 36th Annual High School Science Awards Banquet. The scholars, their parents and school representatives were invited to attend, where each student was presented with a certificate and monetary award. Submitted photo.

Holzer recognizes Meigs youth and others at Science Awards Banquet Science

GALLIPOLIS, Ohio – Holzer Health System recently honored outstanding local high school science graduates at its 36th Annual High School Science Awards Banquet. Several of those scholars included Meigs County students.

The scholars, their parents and school representatives were invited to attend, where each student was presented with a certificate and monetary award.  A representative from each high school who attended the event was presented a check to further their efforts in their respective school’s Science Programs. The Science Awards Program encompasses high schools from Meigs, Athens, Gallia, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike and Vinton Counties in Ohio; and Mason County in West Virginia. 

Recognized from Meigs County were Hannah Damewood​ of Eastern Local High School, Allison Hanstine​ of Meigs High School, and Marissa Brooker​ of Southern High School.

Jonathan Mathis, MD, Holzer Pediatrician

John Cunningham, MS, MBA, FACMPE, Executive Vice President, Holzer Health System, served as Master of Ceremonies and delivered the introductory remarks. Michael Canady, MD, MBA, CPE, FACS, FAAPL, Chief Executive Officer, Holzer Health System outlined the history of the Science Awards Program. Dr. Canady commented, “Holzer sees the Science Awards as an opportunity to give back to the community and formally recognize the achievements of our students and educational systems.” The Science Awards Program honors a student selected by the high school based on outstanding achievement in science and a desire to pursue a higher education. 

The featured speaker for the program was Jonathan Mathis, MD, Holzer Pediatrician. Dr. Mathis is Board Certified by the American Academy of Pediatrics and a graduate of the Morehouse School of Medicine in Atlanta, Georgia. He completed his pediatrics residency at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, South Carolina. He joined Holzer in 2018.

Dr. Mathis spoke to the group about thinking outside of the box and striving toward achievable goals. He remarked, “As you move forward, you will come across resistance. It is your job as thinkers, dreamers, to push past that resistance. Regardless of what people say, it is your responsibility to move forward and pursue your passion. You have the ability to do what you set your mind to.”

Through the Science Awards Program, Holzer has contributed thousands of dollars to area schools and students for the betterment of education in our region. For more information, visit www.holzer.org or call 1-855-4-HOLZER.

Holzer Health System Science Awards Recipients:

Eryn Dael​​ – Alexander High School
Anru Tian​ – Athens High School
Dakota Doss​ – Buckeye Hills Career Center
Andrew Mayenschein​ – Chesapeake High School
Parker Fraley​ – Dawson-Bryant High School
James Pennington​ – Eastern Local (Beaver) High School
Hannah Damewood​ – Eastern Local High School
Abigail Morgan Naegele​ – Fairland High School
Faith Laughlin​ – Federal Hocking High School
Elijah Baird​ – Gallia Academy High School
Dylan Collier​ – Hannan High School
John Higgins – ​Ironton High School
Haley Webb​ – Jackson High School
Allison Hanstine​ – Meigs High School
Madison Campbell​ – Nelsonville-York High School
Katelyn Jones​ – Oak Hill High School
Trevor Blank​ – Ohio Valley Christian School
Katelyn Elizabeth Roush​ – Point Pleasant High School
Isabella Marie Moore​ – River Valley High School
Kelsey Marie Olderham​ – Rock Hill High School
Maria Calhoun​ – South Gallia High School
Katelyn Mundy​ – South Point High School
Marissa Brooker​ – Southern High School
Isaac Andrew Whaley​ – St. Joseph High School
Kara Saunders​ – Symmes Valley High School
Ryan Richmond​ – Trimble High School
Kiara Pickell​ – Vinton County High School
Jacob Lloyd​ – Wahama High School
Logan Huber​ – Waverly High School
Dray Remy​ – Wellston High School